Bram\’s Bloody Booming Blog
A little bit of everything

Join the crowd

I was talking with a friend today about some music she discovered on myspace.com. I told her I’m joining the crowd of myspace and even spent time on writing my ‘about me’. She told me myspace doesn’t bother her, it’s just great for music.

Are we all part of a herd? Follow each other, follow the leader? Joining the hype?

It’s something that’s disturbing me. I’ve got a deviantart page, a last.fm page, a myspace.com AND a blog too… You create all those pages, put time and effort in it: you try to create art, listen to political correct music, spend trouble on styling your myspace and enlarge your ‘social network’ as they like to call it AND you write about yourself. All this because you wanna be someone, so that you would get some attention.

Because you know it, you love attention. Even people who say they want to be left alone, actually want attention, they want attention from people, they want to tell people they want to be left alone… Think about it, and you’ll realise I’m right.

Imagine you’re girlfriend/boyfriend left you, you want to be alone, what would you like best: being left totally alone and realising nobody gives a shite about you, or trying to be left alone, but getting too much attention from people who care and you gotta keep telling to bugger off.

But I’m getting off topic, what I was trying to say: we’re all in this huge herd, trying to be somebody. But if we’re all doing the same, how are we going to divide the nobodies from the somebodies?

PS: I do realise that it is hard to separate the nobodies from the somebodies, or other way around. If not impossible. Because first you would have to define who’s a nobody and who’s a somebody, and what about those in between? Things are rarely that black or white, but I just wanted to give you something to think about.

Peace out.

2 Responses to “Join the crowd”

  1. that’s deep man, and I totally agree with you. But I don’t think it’ll ever be possible to seperate the somebodies from the nobodies. Everyone is someone in themselves, not everyone is the same, (no matter how often our generation is told this) we are in fact all individuals. And there’s nothing wrong with it. Nothing at all.

    Now, talk to me? Love me? I need some attention right now.

  2. That’s a really interesting doncept, and one which i agree completely with. Everyone does want attention, and myspace is a perfect example. It’s just a place for people to talk about themselves in the hope of people listening to them.


Leave a Reply

