Bram\’s Bloody Booming Blog
A little bit of everything

So, how are you?

How many times has someone asked you “how are you?” or something along that path? Probably a shitload of times, I wouldn’t be surprised if you hear it multiple times a day, after all, it’s only normal. “How are you?” is a perfect good sentence to start a conversation with, and quite a good ice breaker (if you would need an ice breaker at all). It’s a common used phrase between friends, even if they see each other daily.

“How Are You?”

But how many times has someone asked you that questions, while wanting a truthfull answer?

You might call it a problem, one that’s been bugging me for quite some time now. Bugging me this much that I feel like sharing it with you.

I felt like crap for quite a long time in my life, and I still do feel crap now and then, after all, who doesn’t. But when general people asked me “So, how are you?”, I felt even worse, because I could feel they didn’t mean it. It’s like having to say hello to people you don’t really like at parties, but you just do it ’cause everyone else is. They just want to ask you how you are, so they could feel better for themselves. They pretended they care, now they can carry on with their own little lives.

This weekend I met a guy, Nickias, I didn’t see in a while, we got along pretty well when we were in school together, consider us friends. So, we were at this party, but it was still early and he came up to me, sat next to me and asked me the infamous question “So, how are you?”, I answered him with the usual “Okay, could always be better, but I’m okay”. And he patted me on the shoulder, and said “Dude, enough with that, it doesn’t happen too often, and I don’t ask it too many people, but I really do care, so answer truthfully: How Are You?”

And it felt so good, just be able to tell him what was on my mind, what was bugging me and what made me feel crap the last couple of weeks. All he did was nod and say a few “uhu’s”. He didn’t even try to give me the “I understand” or “I know how you feel” bullshit. And the last thing he said, made my night “Well dude, I’m here for you tonight”. That’s about all I needed to here from someone. “I’m here for you”.

I promise myself I will ask more people more often “How are you?”, but actually mean it. And promise those few people that might not allready know it, I’m there for them.

4 Responses to “So, how are you?”

  1. bramMIETJE , you know i’m there for you too hé 🙂

  2. 🙂 nice to read.

  3. Yeh, i agree with Callum, nice to read this 🙂 though we dont really ask so often “how are you” here in finland… we’re more straight-forward here and dont talk too much bs.. idk if its a good or bad thing :/ its also an awesome feeling when you know there is someone for you.

  4. dude that is tuchin quite sad to


Leave a Reply

